This Tuesday, history will be made as Lyda Krewson is sworn in as the first female mayor of the City of St. Louis. The St. Louis Young Democrats are excited to work with the new administration to enact progressive policies that move our region forward.

Mayor-Elect Lyda Krewson addresses a room of St. Louis Young Democrats.

The weekend prior to the election, Young Dems had the opportunity to have the ear of our new mayor. It was a sunny Saturday at Vice President Shayn Prapaisilp’s historic home in Tower Grove. The conversation covered many topics including the need for more police officers on the St. Louis Metropolitan Police Department, St. Louis City/County fragmentation, and how to make St. Louis a more equitable place for all.

New member Kareem Smith enjoyed learning more about the Mayor-Elect. Kareem noted that, “The meeting at Shayn’s home with Lyda Krewson provided a welcome opportunity to get know the person behind the candidate. The smaller and more personal setting helped everyone discuss concerns in a more informal manner.”

Our organization looks forward to working with the Krewson administration to find opportunities for alignment and collaboration.


Inauguration events will take place tomorrow, on April 18th, 2017. Please arrive one hour prior to the event you plan to attend. Capacity is standing room only. Street parking and parking at city lots is available.

10:00 am Board of Aldermen Inaugural Ceremonies
Room 230

12:00 pm Mayor & Comptroller Inaugural Ceremonies
The Rotunda 

City Hall
1200 Market Street
St. Louis, MO 63103

The St. Louis Young Democrats congratulate the Democratic candidates that will take office tomorrow:

Lyda Krewson, Mayor
Darlene Green, Comptroller
Sharon Tyus, Ward 1 Alderman
Brandon Bosley, Ward 3 Alderman
Tammika Hubbard, Ward 5 Alderman
Jack Coatar, Ward 7 Alderman
Dan Guenther, Ward 9 Alderman
Sarah Martin, Ward 11 Alderman
Beth Murphy, Ward 13 Alderman
Megan Green, Ward 15 Alderman
Tom Oldenburg, Ward 16 Alderman
Joe Roddy, Ward 17 Alderman
Marlene Davis, Ward 19 Alderman
John Collins-Muhammad, Ward 21 Alderman
Joseph Vaccaro, Ward 23 Alderman
Shane Cohn, Ward 25 Alderman
Pam Boyd, Ward 27 Alderman
Board of Education: Susan Jones, Dorothy Collins, Natalie Vowell
Pam Ross, St. Louis Community College Board of Trustees


We look forward to seeing you at the next Young Dems meeting which will take place on Tuesday, May 2nd at 7:00 pm at The Pat Connolly Tavern. More details to come!


Elise Miller Hoffman
St. Louis Young Democrats